Sundowns duo up for major PSL award

on Monday, 13 May 2019. Share this Article

Sundowns duo up for major PSL award

The Premier Soccer League have named their award nominees for the 2018/19 season with the main prize to be contested between the Mamelodi Sundowns duo of Hlompho Kekana and Themba Zwane, and Orlando Pirates’ Thembinkosi Lorch.

One of those will be crowned Footballer of the Season at the awards ceremony in Durban on Sunday night, with awarded voted for by the 16 coaches of the Absa Premiership teams.


The same trio of players are in contention for the Players’ Player of the Season prize, which is voted for by their fellow professionals, as well as the Midfielder of the Season award.


The Young Player of the Season is to be contested between Gift Links (Cape Town City), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United) and Bongani Sam (Bloemfontein Celtic).


Pitso Mosimane, who led Sundowns to the league title this campaign, is up for Coach of the Season, along with his Pirates counterpart Milutin Sredojevic and Cape Town City’s Benni McCarthy.


Goalkeeper of the Season is between Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City), Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), while Defender of the Season is a battle between Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City) and Ricardo Nascimento (Mamelodi Sundowns).  


As for the knockout competition prizes, the MTN8 last man standing is between Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City) and Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City), while the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament sees Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates) and Mduduzi Mdantsane (Baroka FC) go head-to-head.



The Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament has Khama Billiat and Bernard Parker (both Kaizer Chiefs), as well as Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy) as nominees. 


The Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player is between Lepasa, Terence Mashego (TS Galaxy) and Siphesakhe Ntiya-Ntiya (Kaizer Chiefs).


The PSL has yet to release the list of nominees for the Referee of the Season in a campaign that has been a troubled one for the men in the middle. 


Copyright © 2015 Msports. All rights reserved


Follow Us